Perelandra (ST2)

C. S. Lewis


C. S. Lewis

(1898 - 1963)


Perelandra is the second book in the Space Trilogy of C. S. Lewis, set in the Field of Arbol. It was first published in 1943.

The story starts with the philologist Elwin Ransom, some years after his return from Mars at the end of Out of the Silent Planet, receiving a new mission from Oyarsa, the angelic ruler of Mars. After summoning Lewis, the first person narrator, to his country home, Ransom explains to Lewis that he (Ransom) is to travel to Perelandra (Venus), where he is to counter some kind of attack launched by Earth's Black Archon (Satan). Ransom is transported in a casketlike vessel seemingly made of ice, which contains only himself. He gets Lewis to blindfold him so the sunlight will not blind him once he travels beyond the earth's atmosphere...



Copyright: Public Domain in Canada

(Copyright Notice)


© Numitor Comun Publishing 2012